FCA In Brief

FCA Board

Dallas P. Tonsager

Jeffery S. Hall

Glen R. Smith

History of FCA Governance

FCA Governors, 1933-1986

Former FCA Board Members, 1986-2017

FCA Offices and Officials

Inspector General

FCS Borrower Rights

Employment Homepage


Procurement Opportunities

EEO and Diversity


Home > About FCA >

FCA Board

Since 1985, FCA has been governed by a full-time, three-person Board, whose members are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate.

They serve six-year terms and may not be reappointed to succeed themselves after serving full terms or more than three years of previous members’ terms. The President designates one member as Chairman of the Board, who serves until the end of his or her own term. The Chairman also serves as FCA’s Chief Executive Officer.

What the Board Does
The FCA Board approves the policies, regulations, charters, and enforcement activities that ensure a strong Farm Credit System. The Board also provides for the examination and supervision of the FCS, including Farmer Mac, and oversees the FCS Building Association’s activities.